And The Earth Kept Spinning On and On

I’m awake early on a beautiful Saturday morning. I checked, the earth is still spinning on its axis, the sin is still shining, hell didn’t freeze over. Now can we please call it marriage and move on?

I spent much of yesterday celebrating the historical Supreme Court decision. Texts, phone calls, Twitter and my Muggle Facebook page were lit up with rainbows. I have some very religious friends. Friends I know we’re not happy yesterday. They graciously stayed out of the celebration and didn’t dump their bigoted shit on my FB page. In some cases that surprises me. In others I know they don’t agree, but they respect our friendship enough to not argue. It makes me respect them for giving my friends and me the opportunity to celebrate and repost and retweet rainbows and unicorns all day long.

Six people unfriended me on Facebook. I suppose that should upset me, but it doesn’t. I posted nothing offensive to them. I didn’t call anyone homophobes or bigots. If they can’t handle some rainbows and happiness, them fuck ’em. I don’t need that negativity in my life.

____________

Things with The Nerd (TN) are good. Personally I’d be happiest with sex 2 or 3 times a day. Between Twitter, email, DMs and my own imagination, I’m in a fairly constant state of arousal. Unfortunately, stress, middle age and medication have taken their toll on TN and keeping pace with me just isn’t feasible, but things are getting better. I don’t know if it’s possible to get our libidos to sync at this point, but at least I feel the sting of rejection far less than I used to.

While I’m talking about sex drives, I have to rant a bit. I’m so fucking tired of reading that menopause is pretty much the end of a woman’s sexuality. So many resources talk about decreased libido, vaginal dryness and all around apathy toward sex. I read something the other day that said menopause was the end of a woman’s sex life. I’m sorry, but what a load of tripe. I’ve gone through early menopause. 46 is early to be done, but I am and it’s fantastic. No more worries about getting pregnant. No need for contraception. Since I could never take any form of hormonal birth control, the only time heĀ could ever come inside me without a condom was when we were trying to get pregnant. Not having to worry about that has made me relax and given me such freedom. I’m sure it partly explains why my libido has come roaring back to life with such a vengeance.

_____________

TN played with me nipples until I came this morning. We had a rocking good time last night so that was enough for him. I declared it a new rule that he has to make me come every morning. We’ll see how long that lasts.

Leave a Reply

